Tierra Contenta: A Planned Community, 25 Years in the Making

The Tierra Contenta Corporation is an independent community development 501(c)3 nonprofit corporation founded in 1994 for the sole purpose of owning, planning, and managing a major portion of the Tierra Contenta planned development. 

In the past 25 years, more than 2,300 homes have been built in Tierra Contenta, located at the southwest corner of Santa Fe. 

Tierra Contenta Corporation is responsible for implementing a master plan that was approved by the City of Santa Fe in 1994. It is also responsible for administering design standards for all new construction, and assisting land buyers in obtaining subdivision plat and development plan approvals for each phase of the development. 

In accordance with the original Master Plan, at least 40% of the dwelling units in Tierra Contenta have to be affordable to homebuyers and renters with household incomes at or below 80 percent of the Santa Fe area median income. 

Board of Directors
Tierra Contenta Corporation is a subsidiary of the Santa Fe Community Housing Trust, with its own Board of Directors. 

Jack Hiatt, President, has been an attorney for over 40 years.  Jack has received numerous recognitions and awards such as the NM State Bar Outstanding Contribution Award.  He has been part of several memberships and boards.  He has a passion for providing housing to all who need it.

Allan Baer, Vice President, has practiced architecture since 1969, designing projects in a wide variety of building types, including affordable housing, in both the public and private sectors. A co-founder of Friends of Architecture Santa Fe, he is also an active participant in the American Institute of Architects at the local, state, and regional levels, and has held officer positions and leadership roles in organizing significant events.

Alexandra Ladd, Treasurer of the Tierra Contenta Board, is Director of the Office of Affordable Housing for the City of Santa Fe. In this position, she works with developers to implement Santa Fe’s inclusionary zoning program, oversees funding allocations from HUD and Santa Fe’s Affordable Housing Trust Fund, manages operational grants provided to local housing services providers, and works with the Governing Body on affordable housing policy issues. 

Rose Marie Gonzales-Nielsen is a native Santa Fean, retired LANL staff member. She has served on the United Way of Santa Fe County as an executive board member, was the Chair of the Fund Distribution Committee, the chair of the Santa Fe Community Services Committee, Secretary of the Torreon Neighborhood Association, and is the Vice President of the Housing Trust Board.

Justin Robison is Executive Director of The Housing Trust, the nonprofit parent of Tierra Contenta Corporation (TCC), and interim Executive Director of TCC. Justin’s previous position was Vice President for Financial Planning and Analysis for the El Paso-based Hunt Companies.  Prior to that Justin served as Controller for The Housing Trust and before that, gained seven years of financial analysis experience with for-profit companies.  He received his MBA degree from University of New Mexico.    

Wayne Miller is Vice President of Commercial Real Estate for Washington Federal Bank, and a native son. Besides his abiding commitment to affordable housing, he is active with the Santa Fe Home Builders Association. Wayne is former President of the Housing Trust Board.